Kids’ Lit Quiz Canada

KLQ Canada National Finals 2018

Thursday, February 8

Congratulations to Lee Academy of Hamilton, ON
Canadian National Champions 2018!

Lee Academy team pose with author Linda Granfield

And congratulations to
Bowmore Public School, Toronto, ON, 2nd place
Rockcliffe Park Public School, Ottawa, ON, 3rd place

2018 Results

Congratulations to the top 5 finishers at the world-record huge Toronto Heat!
Moving on to the National Finals are:
1st Bowmore PS Team 1
2nd McMurrich Jr PS Team 1
3rd University of Toronto Schools Team 1
4th Hodgson Middle School Team 1
4th University of Toronto Schools Team 2
Bowmore PS Team 1 hold their book prizes and pose with Quizmaster Wayne Mills

Congratulations to Rockcliffe Park Public School Team 1
Winners of the Kids’ Lit Quiz 2018 Ottawa Heat

Well done Amelie, Olivia, Sylvia and Anna!

Rockcliffe Park Public School Team 1

Congratulations to Lee Academy Team 2
Winners of the Kids’ Lit Quiz 2018 Hamilton Heat

Well done Grace, Aanya, William, and Eve!

More photos from the Hamilton Heat external

Hamilton heat winners Lee Academy Team 2 hold their book prizes

 

Congratulations to St. Michael’s University Team 1
Winners of the Kids’ Lit Quiz 2018 BC Heat

Well done Leighla, Eva, Alexandra and Aidan!

St. Michael’s University Team 1

2018 DATES

October 18: Exhibition Heat at Hillcrest Community School, Toronto

November 16: Vancouver, British Columbia
Waverley Elementary School

January 24: Hamilton, Ontario
Hillfield-Strathallan School

January 26: Ottawa, Ontario
Turnbull School

February 5: Toronto, Ontario
Ryerson, Mattamy Athletic Centre

February 8: National Final, Toronto
Hosted by St Clement’s School

Meet the Author Teams

Kids’ Lit Quiz participants met some of these terrific authors:

Vancouver
Linda Bailey   www.lindabaileybooks.com external
Rachelle Delaney   www.rachelledelaney.com external
Kallie George   www.kalliegeorge.com external
Stacey Matson    www.staceymatson.com external
Holman Wang   www.mycozyclassics.com external

Hamilton
The Tale Tellers
Gillian Chan   www.gillianchan.com external
Linda Granfield   www.lindagranfield.com external
Joanne Levy   www.joannelevy.com external
Aimee Reid   www.aimeereidbooks.com external

Ottawa
Don Cummer   www.doncummer.com external @DonCummer external
Caroline Pignat   www.carolinepignat.com external
Jo Rioux   www.jorioux.com external

Toronto
Natale Ghent   www.nataleghent.com external
Kevin Sands   www.kevinsandsbooks.com external
Richard Scrimger   www.scrimger.ca external
Kevin Sylvester   www.kevinsylvesterbooks.com external @kevinarts external

Telling Tales Spirit Award

At our Hamilton Heat on January 24, Telling Tales sponsored a Spirit Award for a team that showed great cooperation, respect and enthusiasm. One team won an author visit for their school!

What is Kids’ Lit Quiz™?

An established international literature competition for 10 – 13 year olds

Team members must be under 14 years of age on the 1st of July.

  • Showcasing readers worldwide for 25 years
  • Created by Quizmaster Wayne Mills, who writes hundreds of new questions each year
  • Over 1000 schools compete in annual tournaments in Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, New Zealand, Singapore, South Africa, United Kingdom and USA

A fun, rewarding experience

  • Teams answer 100 questions over 10 categories based on any children’s book published in English
  • Students train by reading voraciously, and working on collaboration skills to create the strongest team possible
  • Children explore a wide variety of authors and genres
  • Regional winners compete in a National Final; the winning team advances to the KLQ World Final
  • Prizes are awarded at every level

Why Does Kids’ Lit Quiz™ Matter?

Provides a meaningful activity for middle grade students

  • Teachers and parents see their students become part of a global community of readers
  • Students are engaged at an age when reading for pleasure tends to fall off due to electronic distractions and more academic reading
  • KLQ creates a culture of reading – library traffic increases and readers are celebrated throughout the school
  • Readers experience being on a team with coaches, practices, and tournaments
  • KLQ attracts all students – roughly 40% of competitors each year are boys
  • Studies show that students who read for fun have higher test scores in vocabulary, spelling, and math

Canada hosted the 2017 Kids Lit Quiz™ World Final!

KLQ is exploding in popularity!

  • In 2011, Canada held its first quiz… with only 13 teams
  • In 2016, 117 teams competed across the country for the chance to represent Canada at the World Final in Auckland, New Zealand

Kids’ Lit Quiz™ Canada is a registered charity, run entirely by volunteers who are dedicated to inspiring youth to become lifelong readers.

Kids’ Lit Quiz™ Canada relies on the generosity of public and private sponsors to help fund our programs across Canada.

 

For further information, please contact:
Kidslitquizcanada@gmail.com
www.kidslitquiz.ca external
416-439-4KLQ (4557)
1-866-629-6700

Charitable Registration Number 833763287RR0001